About Us


The Friends of the University of the Philippines Foundation in America (Friends of UP) is a non-profit organization incorporated in California in 1982 after the visit of then UP President Edgardo J. Angara to galvanize the support of the UP alumni in the United States and Canada.  Since then, UP Presidents Jose V. Abueva, Emil Q. Javier, Francisco Nemenzo, and Emerlinda Roman have visited with alumni organizations to further strengthen Friends of UP’s role as a major fund-gathering organization.  The current UP Presidents has traditionally served as Chair of the Friends of UP.  Friends of UP has currently an endowment fund of about $1,000,000.

Friends of UP initially operated with seven original trustees: 1) Edgardo J. Angara, LLB’58; LLD’13hc; 2) Juan G. Collas, Jr., LLB’58; 3) Vicente R. Limcaoco, BS’60; MD’63; 4) Teresita V. Marzan, AB’55; 5) Reginaldo S. Picache, MD’62; 6) Ramon S. Quesada, Jr., BD’66; and 7) Rafael M. Salas.

The Vice-Chair has traditionally served as Executive Director (ED).  The following have served in the capacity as ED: 1) Dr. Vicente R. Limcaoco, 1982-1995 (founding  ED), 2) Dr. Antonio S. Racela, Jr. 1995-2001, 3) Francisco “Toti” L. Juan 2001-2007, Polly S. Cortez, 2007-present.

The number of trustees have been increased to 15 members.


Microsoft Word - 2014Letterhead.docx

The following are the current trustees:

Alfredo E. Pascual, President of UP, Chair

Polly S. Cortez, Vice Chair

Lourdes Tancinco, Esq, Secretary

Julie Z. Hudson, CFO

Leopoldo M. Clemente

Sonia Delen

Mae C. Echanis

Crisostomo B. Garcia, Ph.D.

Marietta Ison, Ph.D.

Vicente R. Limcaoco, MD

Gemma Nemenzo

Alma H. Onrubia, CPA



Friends of UP trustees, advisers and officers serve pro bono.  Many UP alumni have shared their time in these capacities.